La Viejada

Sign up to Dance in La Viejada

Over 200 masked danzantes will participate in a tribute dance “La Viejada” to honor our dearly departed. Participants will include San Jose folklorico dance companies as well as people from the community.

 

La Viejada originates from the Mexican region of La Huasteca. This area covers several states, including Veracruz, San Luis Potosi, and Tamaulipas. What makes the dance so lively is its live music and the many masked dancers that participate.

 

This Viejada does not limit participation to persons from La Huasteca, in fact, several of the new sones have been created especially for San Jose. Our newest son to be danced this year is titled “Sal Si Puedes” after the East Side Neighborhood.

 

La Viejada welcomes anyone who wishes to honor their deceased in a very personal and spiritual way. No dance experience required.

LUP 2017 – La Viejada Rehearsal Dates:

Tuesday, August 29

7:00pm

Colibri Music

Fremont, CA

 

Wednesday, September 20

6:30pm

Flor de Mexico

Hayward, CA

 

Tuesday, September 26

7:00pm

Colibri Music & Los Panaderos

Fremont, CA

 

Wednesday, September 27

5:15 pm

Yolotli Guerrerense

Biblioteca Latino Americana

921 S. First Street, San Jose

 

Thursday, September 28

6:30 – 8:30pm

Community Rehearsal

SOAC @ Mexican Heritage Plaza

1700 Alum Rock Avenue, San Jose

OPEN TO PUBLIC

 

Tuesday, October 3

7:00 – 9:00pm

Grupo Folklorico Los Laureles

MACLA

500 South First Street, San Jose

 

Friday, October 6

6:00pm

Grupo Folklorico Luna y Sol de SJSU

San Jose State University

One Washington Square, San Jose

 

Tuesday, October 10

6:00-8:00pm

Los Mestizos Dance Studio

465 W. Julian Street, San Jose

 

Thursday, October 12

6:30-8:30pm

Community Rehearsal

SOAC @ Mexican Heritage Plaza

1700 Alum Rock Avenue, San Jose

OPEN TO PUBLIC

 

Friday, October 13

6:00pm

Los Guerreros de Guadalupe

Location TBD

 

Saturday, October 14

10:30am

Folklorico Heruvi Kalo

The Foundation for Hispanic Education

14271 Story Rd., San Jose

 

 

Sunday, October 22

SJ-MAG 20th Annual DDLM Downtown Festival

11:00am Lineup at BofA Plaza

Market & San Fernando and march to . . .

San Jose State University

One Washington Square, San Jose

La Viejada Check-in by 1:00pm, Stage Left

 

Thursday, October 26

6:00-8:30pm

ALL Viejada Dancer Rehearsal with Musicians

SOAC @ Mexican Heritage Plaza

1700 Alum Rock Avenue, San Jose

Sunday

October 30th, 2016

12:00-8:00pm

School of Arts & Culture

1700 Alum Rock Ave.

San Jose, CA